The Export Manual

Established in 1999, the Automotive Industry Export Council [AIEC] serves as the umbrella body for the South African automotive industry’s export promotion and development activities and represents an important link between the industry and the Department of Trade, Industry and Competition [DTIC].

The AIEC is funded by and represents the interests of seven major motor vehicle manufacturers/ exporters, namely, BMW, Ford, Isuzu, Mercedes-Benz, Nissan, Toyota and Volkswagen, as well as 14 manufacturers/exporters of trucks and buses. Another funder is NAACAM, thus allowing for the representation of about 500 automotive component suppliers in South Africa across all tiers. The activities and administration of the AIEC are coordinated by the AIEC Board. The AIEC Board of Directors consists of Renai Moothilal [Executive Director at NAACAM, who serves as Chairperson], Mike Mabasa [Chief Executive Officer at naamsa | The Automotive Business Council], Dr. Norman Lamprecht [Executive Manager: Trade, Exports and Research at naamsa | The Automotive Business Council], as well as two ex-officio members from the Department of Trade, Industry and Competition, Mzwakhe Mbatha and Adriaan Adams.

The purpose of the AIEC is to assist companies in the automotive sector that are currently exporting, may be interested in exporting in future, or may become capable of exporting in future.

More information on the Automotive Industry Export Council can be accessed at

  Auto Industry Automotive Components-Product/Market Matrix 2015-2019


  Localisation And Export Development Opportunities 2015-2019

The most credible thought leader and respected partner for the automotive industry.